



The Lower Rio Grande Valley
TPDES Stormwater Task
For Immediate Release
May 1, 2023
For Immediate Release
May 1, 2023
For Immediate Release
Conference

Contact: Javier Guerrero (956) 929-7189

## PRESS RELEASE

# 25<sup>th</sup> Annual LRGV Stormwater Management and Planning Conference South Padre Island Convention Center, South Padre Island, TX May 24<sup>th</sup> – 26<sup>th</sup>, 2023

SPI, TX-The Task Force and its partners are pleased to announce the 25th Annual Lower Rio Grande Valley Stormwater Management & Planning Conference at SPI, TX. Our conference focuses on research topics germane to South Texas and the U.S.-Mexico border region. It is our goal to develop team-based and research inspired programs to train and educate our future engineers. Working with our partners, we have brought together representatives from academia, private industries, environmental groups, research communities and state and federal agencies to be a part of a team exchanging ideas concerning environmental and engineering issues impacting coastal and semi-arid regions and the Rio Grande Valley and transferring that information to the decision makers and stakeholders who influence the economic, social, and physical infrastructure along the border region.

#### Our keynote speakers include:

**Kathleen Jackson** – Public Utility Commission of Texas Commissioner, **Dawn Buckingham** - Texas General Land Office Commissioner, **Jet Hayes**- General Land Office Deputy Director over Program Integration of Community Development & Revitalization, **Mireya Lowe** - Texas Water Development Board, **Bobby Janecka** – Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Commissioner, **Alex Meade** – Texas Department of Transportation

Sponsorships and Exhibitor Booths available. Please contact Melisa Gonzales at (956)605-0650 or via email at mgonzales@lrgvstormwatertaskforce.org

# Lower Rio Grande Valley 25<sup>th</sup> Annual Stormwater Management and Planning Conference



# KEYNOTE SPEAKERS





Keynote: 10:30 am, May 24th, 2023

#### KATHLEEN JACKSON

#### **Texas Public Utility Commission**

Governor Greg Abbott appointed Kathleen Jackson to serve as a commissioner on the Public Utility Commission of Texas on August 5, 2022. She previously served as a Board Member of the Texas Water Development Board since 2014. She was first appointed to the TWDB by Governor Rick Perry on March 18, 2014, and reappointed by Governor Abbott on March 9, 2017.

Jackson has a diverse background representing agricultural, environmental, industrial, and wholesale-supply interests, which includes developing and implementing water management strategies for Southeast Texas. As a registered professional engineer, Jackson served as public affairs manager for one of the world's largest petroleum and petrochemical producers.



Keynote: 12:00 pm, May 24th, 2023

### **BOBBY JANECKA**

#### **Texas Commission on Environmental Quality**

Bobby Janecka serves as one of three appointed Commissioners responsible for oversight of the state environmental agency, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ). His work focuses on leading the TCEQ Border Initiative, serving as the State Liaison Officer for Texas with the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission, and representing the agency as a member of the Texas Energy Reliability Council. He also serves as a member of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency's (EPA) Governmental Advisory Committee representing the interests of the TCEQ to provide advice to the EPA Administrator on a broad range of issues. His previous experience includes roles in the Office of the Governor, Texas House of Representatives, and Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts. He is a graduate of the Texas A&M Bush School of Government and Public Service, the University of Texas at Dallas, and the Governor's Executive Development Program at The University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs



Keynote: 12:00 pm, May 25th, 2023

### DAWN BUCKINGHAM

#### **Texas General Land Office**

Commissioner Buckingham's family were among the first settlers to Texas seven generations ago, and that tough, independent, pioneer spirit is deeply rooted in her personality. True to her Texas roots, her commitment to service began early, serving as a volunteer firefighter, and attending the Texas A&M Fire School. She is also an avid hunter, outdoorswoman, and steward of the land. She made history in 2016 as the first woman elected to the Texas State Senate from Travis County. Without slowing down, she made history again in 2022 when elected as the 29th, and state's first female Commissioner of the General Land Office, Texas' oldest state agency.





Speaking: 9:30 am, May 24th, 2023

#### JET HAYS

# Community Development and Revitalization Texas General Land Office

Jet Hays came to the Texas General Land Office in 2017 and is the Deputy Director, of Program Integration for the Community Development and Revitalization (CDR) Division. He oversees CDR specific automation systems, Studies focusing on improving CDR housing programs and improving planning tools with state level and local studies, Liaison with State and Federal Agencies and is responsible for maintaining the State sponsored FEMA short term housing program in a standby status.

Jet served 33 years with the Texas National Guard, retiring as a Lieutenant Colonel. He was responsible for the Disaster Recovery Planning and Operations where he developed and refined hazard plans for events such as hurricane response, floods, severe winter weather, special security, and catastrophic events.



Keynote: 7:30 pm, May 23<sup>rd</sup>, 2023

#### ALEX MEADE

#### **Texas Department of Transportation**

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Alejandro "Alex" G. Meade, III and Steven D. Alvis to the Texas Transportation Commission for terms set to expire on February 1, 2025, and February 1, 2029, respectively. The Commission governs the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and is responsible for policymaking regarding the state's highway system, developing a statewide transportation plan, assisting the development of public transportation, and adopting rules for TxDOT's operation.

Mr. Meade is executive vice president of Texas Regional Bank. Previously, he served as the city manager for the City of Pharr and prior to that he served as the chief executive officer of the Mission Economic Development Corporation. He is a board member of the Border Trade Alliance, former board of regent for Texas State Technical College System, and a former member of the Texas Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors.